Wilhelm & Co Group entered into  a partnership with CBRE Global Investors with respect to the shopping centre Médiacité in Liège

Wilhelm & Co Group entered into a partnership with CBRE Global Investors with respect to the shopping centre Médiacité in Liège

The Wilhelm & Co Group announces that it has entered into a partnership with a fund managed by CBRE Global Investors on the basis of which the latter will hold a majority participation in the shopping centre Médiacité located in Liège. The companies Gesmall and Gespark (50% Mypark group), part of the Wilhelm & Co Group, maintain the management of the shopping centre and the car parks.

As a reminder

The shopping centre Médiacité, designed and realised by the Wilhelm & Co Group, opened in October 2009. It consists of 41.500m² GLA (leasable space) and contains 114 brands, numerous bars and restaurants, as well as an Olympic skating rink (built by the City of Liège). Next to the shopping centre, the Médiacité site is host to the largest production studio for entertainment programmes of the RTBF, where iconic broadcasts such as “The Voice” or the evening of “Cap48” are produced. 

International recognition

Médiacité is born out of a bold gamble: to create the allure of a shopping and leisure centre through the innovative character of the building’s architecture as well as through the quality of the available brands. Even before the building was finished, Médiacité – combining architectural creativity with high-level technological advancement – had the honour of being exhibited in the largest museums in the world. The architectural model was shown in the Centre Pompidou in Paris, the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York and the Barbican Centre in London within the framework of exhibitions devoted to the building’s creator, architect-designer Ron Arad.

After this recognition from the cultural sector, the most prestigious professional awards followed: one of the 5 « World’s Best of the Best Nomination » awarded by the International Council of Shopping Centres (ICSC) in 2012, after already having obtained the award for best European shopping centre in its category from ICSC Europe in 2011, as well as several other awards (BLSC, RLI, etc).

Médiacité has also made a name for itself as pioneer on an environmental level: by having the building obtain the certificate for the BREEAM RETAIL standard, Wilhelm & Co Group has introduced the use of the BREEAM standard in Belgium (first building constructed under this standard) and the use of the BREEAM RETAIL standard in Europe (first European certificate under this standard).

Lastly, Médiacité also exemplifies a perfect collaboration between a private entity and a municipality. The Wilhelm & Co Group would never have been able to realise this ambitious project without the attention, support and speed of decision and action of the authorities of the City of Liège. The Wilhelm & Co Group is infinitely grateful for this.

An undeniable commercial success

Since its opening in October 2009, Médiacité has received more than 50 million visitors and is reaching a catchment area that by far exceeds all expectations. The reason for this success: a “radically different” shopping centre seduced brands which, at the peak of the financial crisis (Médiacité opened its doors in 2009) dared to establish themselves with conviction. Leading the way for the other brands is the first and still by far the largest Primark in Belgium, attracting visitors within a range of more than 120 km, placing Primark Médiacité among the European top of the brand.

After 7 years of exploitation, Médiacité has reached cruising speed and placed itself amongst the top 3 of the most visited shopping centres in Belgium. The leading tenants of the centre have opened important extensions of their stores this year: Primark +60% and H&M +50%. Moreover, the most important sought-after brands which are not yet present in Médiacité, have been announced for 2017. 

Thousands of jobs created

Last but not least, the Wilhelm & Co Group is proud to have created 1200 jobs directly and as many jobs indirectly in Liège. 

The moment to transfer the majority in the property

Completely in line with its pioneer’s strategy to develop large unusual  projects independently until they are up to speed, the moment for Wilhelm & Co came to transfer the majority of the property to a partner that shares the same vision. As has been largely demonstrated in the press, the identification of this partner was not an easy task.

The transaction with CBRE Global Investors – a partner with the ideal profile – thus constitutes for the Wilhelm & Co Group the culmination of a strategy imposed against all odds. CBRE Global Investors is an expert in the field of Belgian commercial centres. Until recently, one of its funds held one of the most prestigious portfolios in the sector. During the negotiations, the new partners got to know each other and recognised the complementarity of their mutual competences.

Finally, from the moment Médiacité starts this new stage in its existence, the Wilhelm & Co teams see themselves rewarded yet again for their work through recognition with an extraordinary symbolic value for a real estate promoter. In the framework of its series « Architectures », devoted to the most striking architectural developments in the world, the TV station ARTE has recently finalised a film on Médiacité. Each film analyses a building selected on the basis of its exemplary aspects, the milestone role it has played or still plays in the history of architecture.

At the moment the transaction was closed, Peter Wilhelm, CEO of Wilhelm & Co declared:

“ We are delighted to enter into a partnership with CBRE Global Investors with respect to a leading asset in which our teams have heavily invested for the past 10 years. The identification of an ideal majority partner was far from easy. CBRE Global Investors is a recognised major player in the sector of commercial centres in Belgium.

The way they, within a timeframe of a few years, established a portfolio including some of the most important commercial centres of the country, before disposing them, has aroused everyone’s admiration.

We are delighted, for our group, our teams, but also for all the loyal customers and the retailers of Médiacité, with the arrival of a very experienced and competent majority partner with whom we share the same strategic visions and who grants us her confidence so that our companies Gesmall and Gespark (50% of the Mypark Group), can continue to manage the commercial centre and the car parks of Médiacité. “

Back to Top

Le Groupe Wilhelm & Co conclut un partenariat avec CBRE Global Investors portant sur la détention du centre commercial Médiacité à Liège

Le Groupe Wilhelm & Co conclut un partenariat avec CBRE Global Investors portant sur la détention du centre commercial Médiacité à Liège

Le Groupe Wilhelm & Co annonce avoir conclu un partenariat avec un fonds géré par CBRE Global Investors au terme duquel ce dernier détiendra une participation majoritaire dans le centre commercial Médiacité situé à Liège. Les sociétés Gesmall et Gespark (50% groupe Mypark) filiales du groupe Wilhelm & Co conservent la gestion du centre commercial et des parkings.

Pour rappel

Le centre commercial Médiacité, conçu et réalisé par le Groupe Wilhelm & Co, a ouvert ses portes en Octobre 2009. Il développe 41.500m² GLA (surface locative) et accueille 114 enseignes, de nombreux cafés et restaurants ainsi qu’une patinoire olympique (construite par la Ville de Liège). Mitoyen au centre commercial, le site de Médiacité accueille également le plus grand studio de productions d’émissions de variétés de la RTBF où sont réalisées des émissions aussi emblématiques que « The Voice » ou la soirée «Cap48».

Une reconnaissance internationale

Médiacité est née d’un pari audacieux : générer l’attractivité d’un pôle de commerces et de loisirs en se basant tant sur le caractère innovant de l’architecture du bâtiment que sur la qualité des enseignes qu’il accueille. Avant même l’achèvement des travaux, Médiacité – qui allie créativité architecturale et prouesse technologique – a eu les honneurs des plus grands musées du monde : Centre Pompidou à Paris, Musée d’Art moderne (MOMA) de New York, et Barbican Center à Londres, où la maquette a été exposée dans le cadre d’expositions consacrées à son concepteur l’architecte-designer Ron Arad.

A ces reconnaissances du monde de la culture sont venues s’ajouter les plus prestigieux trophées professionnels: l’une des 5 « Worlds Best of the Best Nomination» décernée par le Conseil Mondial des Centres Commerciaux (ICSC) en 2012, ceci après avoir obtenu le prix du meilleur centre commercial européen dans sa catégorie décerné par l’ICSC Europe en 2011, ainsi que de nombreuses autres récompenses (BLSC, RLI, etc).

Médiacité a aussi fait oeuvre de pionnier dans le domaine environnemental : en faisant certifier le bâtiment sous la norme BREEAM RETAIL , le Groupe Wilhelm & Co a introduit l’usage de la norme BREEAM en Belgique (premier bâtiment construit sous cette norme), et de la norme Breeam Retail en Europe (première certification européenne sous cette norme).

Enfin, Médiacité constitue l’exemple d’une parfaite collaboration entre un acteur privé et une municipalité. Le Groupe Wilhelm & Co n’aurait jamais pu réaliser cet ambitieux projet sans l’écoute, le soutien et la rapidité de décision et d’action des autorités de la Ville de Liège. Il lui en est infiniment reconnaissant.

Un succès commercial jamais démenti

Depuis son ouverture en octobre 2009, Médiacité a accueilli plus de 50 millions de visiteurs en provenance d’une zone de chalandise dépassant largement toutes les anticipations. L’explication de ce succès : ce centre commercial « radicalement différent » a séduit les enseignes qui, au plus fort de la crise financière (Médiacité s’est ouvert en 2009), ont pris le pari de s’y implanter en force avec, à leur tête, le premier et toujours de loin le plus grand Primark de Belgique qui attire des visiteurs à plus de 120km à la ronde, plaçant le Primark Médiacité dans les tops européens de la marque.

Après 7 années d’exploitation, la vitesse de croisière est à présent atteinte. Médiacité se situe dans le top 3 des fréquentations de centres commerciaux en Belgique, les enseignes locomotives du centre ont inauguré cette année d’importantes extensions de leurs magasins : Primark +60% et H&M +50% . Par ailleurs, les principales enseignes convoitées qui ne sont pas encore à Médiacité sont annoncées pour 2017.

Des milliers d’emplois créés

Last but not least, le Groupe Wilhelm & Co est fier d’avoir créé 1200 emplois directs et autant d’emplois indirects à Liège.

Le moment de céder la majorité de la propriété

Conformément à sa stratégie de pionnier développant des projets hors normes qu’il pilote sous sa seule responsabilité jusqu’à ce qu’ils aient atteint leur vitesse de croisière, le moment était venu pour le Groupe Wilhelm & Co de céder la majorité de Médiacité à un partenaire qui partage les mêmes vues que lui. L’indentification de ce partenaire ne fut pas chose aisée, la presse en a abondamment fait état.

La transaction intervenue avec CBRE Global Investors constitue donc pour le Groupe Wilhelm & Co l’aboutissement – avec un partenaire ayant le profil idéal – d’une stratégie qu’il a su imposer contre vents et marées. CBRE Global Investors est un grand connaisseur des centres commerciaux belges ; l’un de ses fonds possédait jusqu’il y a peu l’un des plus prestigieux portefeuilles du secteur. Au cours des discussions, les nouveaux partenaires ont appris à se connaitre, et à reconnaitre la complémentarité de leurs compétences réciproques.

Enfin, au moment d’aborder cette nouvelle tranche de vie de Médiacité, le travail des équipes de Wilhelm & Co se voit gratifié d’une nouvelle récompense à la valeur éminemment symbolique pour un promoteur immobilier. La chaine de télévision ARTE vient de finaliser un film sur Médiacité qui s’inscrit dans le cadre de sa série « Architectures », consacrée aux réalisations architecturales les plus marquantes dans le monde. Chaque film traite d’un bâtiment choisi pour son aspect exemplaire, pour le rôle de jalon qu’il a joué ou qu’il joue dans l’évolution de l’architecture.

Au moment de conclure la transaction Peter Wilhelm, CEO de Wilhelm & Co a déclaré :

Nous sommes ravis de conclure un partenariat avec CBRE Global Investors portant sur un actif dominant, dans lequel nos équipes se sont abondamment investies pendant plus de 10 ans. L’identification d’un partenaire majoritaire idéal ne fut pas chose aisée. CBRE Global Investors est un acteur majeur reconnu dans le secteur des centres commerciaux en Belgique. La manière dont il a fait croître en quelques années un portefeuille incluant quelques-uns des centres commerciaux les plus importants du pays, avant de s’en séparer il y a quelques mois, a suscité l’admiration de tous. Nous nous réjouissons, pour notre groupe, nos équipes mais aussi tous les clients et les commerçants fidèles de Médiacité, de l’arrivée d’un partenaire majoritaire, très expérimenté et compétent, avec lequel nous partageons les mêmes visions stratégiques, et qui nous accorde sa confiance pour que nos sociétés Gesmall et Gespark ( 50% Groupe Mypark), continuent à gérer le centre commercial et les parkings de Médiacité.

Back to Top